The Williams School is a coeducational, college preparatory day school
enrolling students in Grades 7 through 12. Founded in 1891 by an endowment
by Harriet Peck Williams, the school functioned for more than half a
century as a comprehensive high school for girls. With the advent of a
large public high school in New London, Williams moved in 1954 to the
grounds of Connecticut College and became college preparatory in nature.
In 1971 the School admitted boys. Its mission is to "foster the
intellectual, moral, and aesthetic development of young women and men" as
they prepare for a life of learning and participation in a changing world.
The School strives to be a thoughtful, vibrant community of adults and
students who come together in the pursuit of knowledge and growth.
Academic challenges and personal rewards take place in an environment of
support and respectful collaborative learning. Williams occupies a tract
of land on the College campus in a newly renovated building, recently in
creased in size by the addition of a classroom and science wing, including
state-of-the-art laboratories. There are three technology labs, a
Performing Arts Center and two gymnasiums. Two miles from campus, a new
athletic complex on twenty-three acres provide playing and practice