Hewitt empowers girls to discover their full intellectual and creative abilities, to pursue their passions and personal best, and to lead lives of consequence with character, compassion, and conviction.
A Brief History of The Hewitt School
Founded by educator Caroline Hewitt in 1920, shortly after women received the right to vote and at a time when they began to achieve greater autonomy and seek professional opportunities, the school has grown from a single, co-ed kindergarten class to a rigorous K–12, college preparatory school for 520 girls. Hewitt is comprised of exceptionally talented teachers and bright, eager students who are supported by dedicated trustees, and committed parents and alumnae.
Since its founding, the school has always been nestled in the quiet, tree-lined streets of the East 70s of Manhattan. Its facility and location history is as follows:
• The original school was housed at 68 East 79th Street.
• In 1951 it moved to its present location at 45 East 75th Street (Stillman Building).
• In 1966 Hewitt expanded into its rear neighbor at 44 East 76th Street (Gregory Building). Subsequent additions and expansions within this footprint were added in the 1970s and 1980s.
• The Andrew J. McKelvey Building at 3 East 76th Street (at Fifth Avenue), was opened in 2003 for grades K–3.
Hewitt is across the street from Central Park and within short walking distance to world-class museums, universities, cultural institutions, and medical/research centers. Its location makes it uniquely situated for students and faculty to explore, travel, and learn with ease from more than 125 partners throughout the city and beyond. For example, Hewitt has formed educational partnerships with Bard College's Institute of Writing and Thinking and IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.
The school uses the gyms at The Lenox Hill Neighborhood House, The Buckley School, and Madison Avenue Presbyterian Church (MAP), and avails itself of the playgrounds at nearby Central Park. Part of a consortium of schools, it also uses field space at Randall’s Island. Rowers practice out of the Peter J. Sharp Boathouse on the Harlem River. Theater productions as well as town meetings are held at the Theater at St. Jean, a 204-seat professional theater. Large all-school gatherings such as concerts and graduations are also held at MAP.
In 2013 Hewitt acquired a 10,000 square foot townhouse, adjacent to the Middle School (Gregory Building) which will serve all grades. Construction began in the spring of 2015 to be completed in fall 2016. This new facility will host science labs, performing and visual arts spaces, additional classrooms, and expanded space for fitness and wellness. Architect Graham Wyatt of Robert A.M. Stern Architects has designed a state-of-the-art facility maximizing all space and fully integrating the facility into the original buildings. The projected renovation cost of $10 million was funded through the Building Hewitt capital campaign which raised more than $11 million with gifts and pledges through June 2015.